LITTLE DARTMOUTH – Such A Lovely Walk!

While I waited for a friend, and fellow member of the University Of The Third Age walking group, to pick me up in Totnes and drive us both to Little Dartmouth this morning I was provided with music by the musician you see here. He was playing right outside my bank and as I was waiting on the opposite pavement, it was good to be serenaded!

It has been altogether a great day. Our walk along the coastal path towards Dartmouth was simply magnificent from beginning to end, with the sun shining throughout from a cloudless sky. And ever beckoning us was the Castle Café, where we finally sat in the sunshine enjoying baguettes or sandwiches and drinks. Our enjoyment was enhanced by the spectacular view across the Dart and out to the open sea, where yachts were criss-crossing and the passenger boat from Brixham was arriving.

I joined the U3A soon after moving to Totnes just over four years ago and am so glad I did, as I’ve made lots of friends as well as lots of discoveries. Yes, there’s been stuff to learn via the various groups to choose from, plus the monthly talks in a local church hall – and there have been plenty of wonderful walks in (for me) hitherto undiscovered territory! I’m walking in good company along routes I might never have found for myself. What could be better – especially when the weather is as obliging as it has been today?

 

Dartmouth Castle

Leave a Reply

