TOUR OF BRITAIN – A DEVON WINNER!

Until Bradley Wiggins won the Tour de France I’d never taken much interest in cycling or cyclists, but now I can almost get excited about this sport! So had I not been in Shropshire last weekend the chances are I would have been on Dartmoor or on the Slapton Line (two views of which can be seen in these pictures) as the competitors in the Tour Of Britain passed by.

How thrilling that Jonathan Tiernan-Locke from Devon (who succumbed at the age of 20 to the Epstein-Barr virus, yet at 27 has overcome his illness to become a rising star in the cycling world) cycled to victory on Sunday!

Speaking of stars, I learned today that counting those in the galaxy at the rate of one per second would take no less than 3,000 years!!! Do you find that fact as mind-boggling as I find it? On the basis that (in more ways than one) I simply haven’t the time, I’ve decided not to embark on this project.

Leave a Reply

