BEAUTIFUL BRIDGNORTH

 

Last Friday, en route (again) for Telford in Shropshire where I was attending a conference, I called in for the first time at beautiful Bridgnorth. Usually I’m on too tight a schedule to do more than by-pass it, but on Friday I made the time to drive in – and I’m so glad I did!

On the banks of the River Severn, this is the town where King Charles I lost his head completely, declaring it to be “the finest in all my kingdom!”

When I go there next (and there will definitely be a next time) I plan to ride on Britain’s steepest inland funicular railway from the Low Town to the High Town – ideally on a day when the sun is shining.  There was, sadly, no opportunity to do this on Friday. But I visited the bustling market and also ate well in the King’s Head – feeling this to be an appropriate gesture to Charles I!

I enjoyed the distinctive shops and was impressed by some of the 16th and 17th century architecture – along with the town’s whole ambiance. I was left with the definite impression that its inhabitants were glad to live there.

On Saturday night, driving home in a southwest direction after my conference, I was awed by one of the most amazing sunsets I’ve ever seen. The ever-changing light – especially over the Mendip hills – was quite awesome and extraordinary. I’d have stopped on the M5 and photographed it but for the fact my camera could never have done it justice.

We live in a wonderful world, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

